weVENTURE Seeks Nominations for 2017 Women Who Rock Awards

Posted by on Wednesday, November 30th, 2016 and is filed under .

Deadline for Submissions Friday, Dec. 16      WWR_logo

MELBOURNE, FLA. (November 29, 2016) – weVENTURE, a Central Florida-based organization launched at Florida Institute of Technology and focused on the entrepreneurial needs of women, is seeking nominations for its 10th Annual Women Who Rock Awards Luncheon in honor of Women’s History Month.

Nominations are due by 5 p.m. Friday, Dec. 16. The luncheon is from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Tuesday, March 14, at Hilton Rialto Place Melbourne.

The awards categories are:

  • Entrepreneur of the Year: This award recognizes a local woman who creates the products, services and jobs that fuel our economy and help our community grow.
  • Excellence in Leadership: This award recognizes a female community leader who advocates for positive social change to create a more equitable society.
  • Emerging Leader: This award recognizes a female under age 30 who demonstrates high ethical standards, commitment, confidence and the ability to serve as an inspirational leader, and who is a role model for members of her community.
  • Florida Tech Joan Bixby Award: This award generally recognizes a Florida Tech faculty or staff member and a student (male or female) who enhances the climate for women’s participation and development on campus.

Nomination forms are available at http://weventure.fit.edu/events/womens-who-rock.php.

“These awards provide an important platform for recognizing our area’s most innovative and influential female business leaders,” said weVENTURE Executive Director Erica Lemp. “We strongly encourage local businesspeople to nominate those they feel are most deserving of these special honors.”

Winners receive a personalized plaque, media and website exposure, and social media promotion.

Spring 2016 awardees were:

  • Entrepreneur of the Year: Debbie Goode, partner, Carr, Riggs & Ingram, CPAs and Advisors
  • Excellence in Leadership: Betsy Farmer, executive director, Promise in Brevard
  • Emerging Leader: Jennifer Sugarman, president and CEO, Cocoa Beach Regional Chamber of Commerce
  • Florida Tech Joan Bixby Award: Dwayne McCay, president, Florida Institute of Technology; Julie Shankle, director of online learning, Florida Institute of Technology; and Lorian Schweikert, doctoral candidate in biological sciences, Florida Institute of Technology

To learn more about weVENTURE, please visit www.weVENTURE.org or call 321-674-7007.

# # #


weVENTURE, launched in 2007 at Florida Institute of Technology, accelerates growth for entrepreneurs by providing customized coaching, business education, mentorship and networking programs. weVENTURE, with Central Florida locations in Melbourne and Rockledge, is funded in part through a cooperative agreement with the U.S. Small Business Administration. For more information or to register for weVENTURE courses and mentorship programs, please visit www.weventure.org or call 321-674-7007.

About Florida Institute of Technology
Founded at the dawn of the Space Race in 1958, Florida Tech is the only independent, technological university in the Southeast. PayScale.com ranks graduates’ mid-career median salaries in first place among Florida’s universities, and lists Florida Tech among the top 20 universities in the South—both public and private. The university has been named a Barron’s Guide “Best Buy” in College Education, designated a Tier 1 Best National University in U.S. News & World Report, and is one of just nine schools in Florida lauded by the Fiske Guide to Colleges. In 2016, Times Higher Education ranked Florida Tech one of the top 20 small universities in the world and named it one of the top universities in the United States. Florida Tech offers undergraduate, master’s and doctoral programs. Fields of study include science, engineering, aeronautics, business, humanities, mathematics, cybersecurity, psychology, communication and education. Find additional information at www.fit.edu.